Uncategorized

Creams vs. Oils

Hello Lovelies!

As you guys probably know, I have raved about oils in some of my past posts. I do have a few oils that I find exceptional when it comes to moisturizing my skin, especially in the wintertime, however, now that it’s summer, I have found that my skin has been rejecting oils as of late. I’m not quite sure what it is, but I started to have this issue in May where my skin was just not absorbing my much-loved oils. I would apply them to my face in a gentle patting motion after warming the oil between my hands, and it would literally just sit there. So my skin would look oily, but because it wasn’t absorbing, it would still be flaky. Let me tell you, it is not a pretty look. Thinking back, I think that this could be due to the heat. The oil would just feel as though it was cooking on my skin, so needless to say, i went out and bought a cream moisturizer to hopefully help revive my moisture-deprived skin.

And it worked!

Guys, that moment of applying my new cream was magical. It felt so cool and soft, and my skin instantly drank it up. The one I used was an organic vitamin E cream by Dr.Organic. It’s great stuff. Then I tried a sample of the new Vitamin C glow boosting moisture from The Body Shop and that too was amazing. So then to make sure my theory was completely correct, I tried out a few no name brands moisturizers (which are actually really great – you get the same ingredients and similar formulations to high end brands for less) and they too worked much better in comparison to my oils. The website I linked has some great economical moisturizers that work really well.

woman-applying-moisturizer

All in all, I would say that I definitely prefer moisturizers during hotter temperatures. I don’t think I’m even going to consider adding an oil into my regime until Winter. Even when I was using oils however, I always applied a moisturizer on top, so I would definitely say that my preference lies with creams over oils, especially at this current moment. THat being said, I have a few friends who love using oils all year round. One of my girlfriends is a fan of the infamous Argan Oil, and she loves it even in the summer. It truly just depends on your skin, and whether it tends to go through that hormonal period when the season transition. Some people have the same skin type all year round (lucky them), but many of us have skin conditions that change as the weather changes, and that means switching up our beauty routine to make sure that we are giving our skin whatever it may crave.

I would love to hear what you guys prefer! Are you on team cream or team oil? Or perhaps both, like me, depending on the time of year?

Love,

Tabitha

Standard

One thought on “Creams vs. Oils

  1. I rather use creams than oil.I guess because I have an oily skin so it does not combine with me at all.

    Please if you could check my blog debyoncelifewordpress.com

Leave a Reply

