Uncategorized

Ingredients to look for in a Serum

Hello hello lovelies,

This morning, while chugging back my tropical green smoothie, I popped onto my Sephora app and was scrolling though their very wide and extensive offerings in serums. There are so many different kinds of serums out there, and when you find the right one for your skin, it can make all the difference. Right now, I’m not using a serum, and I have been really wanting to add one into my skincare regime. However, as you know, I have very sensitive skin, so finding one that looks gentle enough while still being effective has been tricky. I’ve been poring over all these serums’ ingredient lists, and its disheartening to not only see so many ingredients that I don’t want, but to also see a lack of those superstar ingredients that I DO want. Here are the ingredients that I think are the best to include in serums;

serum

Vitamin C – This stuff is pure antioxidant. It prevents free-radical damage, fades discoloration, acne scars and wrinkles, while giving your skin that enviable glow. It also helps to promote collagen production, and who doesn’t want more of that?

Hyaluronic Acid – This is one of the greatest moisturizers you can get because it can hold 1000 times its weight in water within your skin cells. This helps to maintain your skin’s smoothness and elasticity, while keeping your skin ultra hydrated and soft.

Niacinamide – This is one of those ingredients that are harder to come by, but it’s absolutely amazing for promoting an even skin tone. It’s apparently awesome when it comes to fading post-acne marks too!

Lactic acid – Lactic acid is derived from milk and acts as a fabulous chemical exfoliator. Of all the different chemical exfoliators, this one is supposedly the most gentle, which will result in smooth skin and less redness and irritation.

Aloe Vera juice – This is the last ingredient that I think is absolutely wonderful in serums. Aloe Vera is super soothing and healing, with too many skin benefits to count.

There are of course many different ingredients that probably work amazing in various serum formulations, but these are the ingredients that stand out most to me as being the most beneficial. If I do happen to find a serum containing a few of these ingredients I’ll be sure to let you guys know! If you know of anything similar or a serum that you just happen to think is amazing, do let me know! 🙂

Love,

Tabitha

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

