Beauty, Health, Skin Health, Vegan Recipes

My Favorite Glowing Skin Smoothie

Hello Lovelies,

Today I wanted to share with you all my favorite green smoothie recipe that I rely on to keep my body and skin both healthy and happy. I’ve been riding the green smoothie wagon for a couple years now, but lately smoothies have been getting a lot of love, on blogs, in recipe books, youtube videos, etc. There are so many different recipes out there, and through trial and error, I’ve finally found a go-to that I absolutely love.

My struggle with a lot of smoothies recipes is that although they make me feeling great right after I drink one, I’m always hungry a few hours later. And when I’m hungry, I’m not at my best. In fact, I basically become the scariest person you will ever encounter. When I first started drinking smoothies, I was doing mostly veggies with some fruits and just plain water. I know that it was super healthy, but the lack of bulk made it unsatisfying as a meal. These days I prefer to do smoothies like that for snacks only.

So, I began using unsweetened almond milk, and that made a huge difference. It made my smoothies creamier and tastier. I also started adding superfoods and boosters to my smoothies, and that made them WAY more filling. So that’s probably my biggest tip if you want to start drinking smoothies regularly; add boosters like protein and superfoods.

greensmoothiesspirulina

Nothing but green goodness

So without further ado, here’s my signature recipe 😉

  • two handfuls of kale (or any other mixed greens)
  • frozen mango
  • frozen pineapple
  • 1 tbsp of vegan protein powder (I like genuine health vegan protein)
  • 1 tbsp of flax seeds
  • 1 packet of stevia (to help sweeten it up)
  • half a tsp of spirulina powder
  • unsweetened almond milk

This combination is absolutely delicious and tastes so creamy and tropical! You’re getting lots of leafy greens, vitamins A and C from the mango and pineapple, omega 3 from the flax seeds, as well as some easily digested plant protein from the vegan protein powder and the spirulina. It’s amazing for your health and for your skin as well. Since drinking this combination, my complexion has started to take on this constant glow and I couldn’t be more thrilled! Who needs highlighter when you have green smoothies to give you that coveted glow? I think that good skin comes from within, and if you’re experiencing skin troubles, your diet is the first place to take a good look at. Certain foods can hydrate your skin and keep it clear, while others (fried foods, sugar, refined carbs) can contribute to nothing but acne, dark circles and dullness.

I like to drink this as a light breakfast around 3 times a week at least. This recipe is also great as a mid-afternoon pick me up, and rocks after a workout as well, thanks to the protein.

If you guys have any smoothies recipes that you love, be sure to share them below! I’m always looking to shake things up with new smoothies recipes! 🙂 I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Love,

Tabitha

Standard

One thought on “My Favorite Glowing Skin Smoothie

  1. Pingback: How I deal with Skin Irritations | tabsbeauty

Leave a Reply

