Beauty, Health, healthy habits, Natural Skincare Solutions, Skin Health, skincare

The Tea Series: Green Tea = Clear Skin

Hello lovelies,

In my last post, I raved about the wonders turmeric tea has worked on my skin. It truly is my favourite tea of the moment, but due to it being a herbal tea, it’s one I typically like to consume at night or after dinner.

In the morning however, I need something that will give me a little bit of a caffeine kick. Something that will perk me up without making me jittery like coffee (which is why I only have coffee once in a while lol). So of course, I choose to drink green tea.

japanese-green-tea

Just looking at this picture makes me want some….

Green tea is a renowned health beverage for a reason. It’s a potent antioxidant, making it very effective in delaying signs of aging by warding off free radicals. It is also very cleansing for the body, and contains many anti-inflammatory properties, making it amazing for both achieving and maintaining clear skin. I drink one or two cups in the morning almost every day.

green-tea-benefits

This infographic – found on Visual.ly by restlesscookie shows how many crazy health benefits green tea has to offer. 

If you really want to shake things up, and make your tea even more powerful, you can do two things.

One – Try adding in the juice of half a lemon to your tea, or even just a few wedges. It’ll up the vitamin C content, and make the drink even more cleansing.

Two – give matcha tea a try. Rather than soaking the green tea leaves the way you do with conventional tea, you consume the whole leaf (matcha tea is green tea leaves ground up into a fine powder), so it becomes ten times more potent. It also gives you a stronger caffeine boost. This stuff is absolutely delicious as a latte made with your preferred plant milk.

If you want to reap even more benefits of green tea, try using it topically. You can add it to a face mask, steam your face with it, or (my favourite) use it as a toner. You can make one batch a week, and it’s seriously amazing on your skin. I find it very calming, and it really helps to reduce redness and effectively heal blemishes in a gentle way. It’s also super cheap to make.

Green tea is truly amazing, and I highly suggest giving it a try, whether you choose to drink it or use it topically on your face! Or hey, why not try both? 🙂

Love,

Tabitha

Standard

Leave a Reply

