Health, Skin Health, Vegan Recipes

The Tea Series: Turmeric Tea = Calm Skin

Hello Lovelies,

When it comes to hot beverages, they say that you’re either a coffee drinker or a tea drinker. Well guys, let me tell you; as much as I love treating myself to a coffee once or twice a week, I am firmly on team tea. I drink approximately four cups of tea a day, no joke. I adore tea, and I am constantly trying new kinds. So many people believe tea is boring because they never deviate from the standard orange pekoe or green tea. I used to have that same mindset until I started broadening my tea collection.

For instance…

I discovered how tasty mint tea was.

When I was introduced to tulsi chai tea, my world was never the same.

Ginger tea also turned out to be fab.

So if you’re one of those people that think tea is boring, I highly urge you to try different varieties and flavours. Some have different plant and fruit extracts that can make all the difference. Certain tea blends are seriously genius.

I truly do love all kinds of tea, but the one I’ve been reaching for the most lately?

Turmeric Cinnamon tea.

ginger-turmeric-tea

Not only is it delicious (when I make it with my usual stevia and almond milk), it’s also an absolute powerhouse when it comes to skin health.

Turmeric has been used for centuries as a medicinal spice due to its strong anti-inflammatory properties. Turmeric is very high in curcumin, which has been proven to delay aging. In fact, its anti-inflammatory powers are as strong as some drugs. When your body is in a state of inflammation, it exacerbates common skin ailments like acne, eczema and rosacea. I’ve really noticed huge difference with my increased consumption of this spice. I even bought the actual spice to add the quinoa or brown rice which is super tasty.

One quick note though; in order for turmeric to be most effective, it should be consumed with black pepper; the pepper makes it easier for your body to absorb the curcumin. The tea I buy has turmeric, cinnamon as well as black pepper, making it perfect. When I cook with turmeric I just make sure to add a dash of pepper.

turmeric-tea

This is the kind I buy – It’s DELICIOUS

I believe that turmeric is truly a power spice that everyone can benefit from. It’s so good fro your health as well as your skin! If tea isn’t up your ally, definitely try cooking with this golden spice; and if you hate the flavour, there are always supplements.

Is there a particular food or tea that you guys feel works wonders on your skin internally?

Love,

Tabitha

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

