Beauty, Health, healthy habits, Natural Skincare Solutions, Vegan Recipes

The Tea Series: Spearmint Tea = Zit-Free Skin

Hello, Lovelies,

In my last instalment of the tea series, I will be singing the praises of my ride or die tea; spearmint tea. If you deal with acne and troubled skin, this is the tea for you.

mint tea

Spearmint tea is one of the most effective remedies for troubled skin because of all the mint varieties, it is the most potent in killing bacteria (the stuff that causes skin ailments). So while peppermint is wonderful, spearmint is especially good if you’re drinking it as a way to alleviate skin troubles. It is incredibly anti-inflammatory, making it great for individuals who also suffer from red skin or rosacea. It is a very cooling herb, making it comfortable for everyone to drink. I say that because I went through a phase where I had really bad allergies and reactions to everything; I had just went vegan and my system was so out of balance. I would eat healthy foods like sweet potatoes, zucchini, tomatoes and avocado and my face would feel inflamed after and it was driving me absolutely insane. It was the craziest thing. Most teas were so hot and warming that they made me feel like I was on fire, and the only tea I could drink was mint tea. It not only helped to alleviate my symptoms, it would literally always soothe and cool my entire body down. (I started eating meat after three years of veganism and my body is far happier and more balanced. I don’t eat dairy or gluten though).

So with all that being said, mint tea has a very special place in my heart, and spearmint is easily my favourite kind of mint. If you find peppermint sharp, I definitely still recommend trying spearmint; it’s way more mellow. Plus those skin benefits make it worth it. If you have persistent acne, I suggest drinking two cups a day. An editor from Byrdie (an awesome beauty blog if you haven’t already seen it) drank two cups a day and claimed that her skin GLOWED. Check out her post here.

This is the one I always buy.

tea brand

BTW it’s also amazing cooled down with some added stevia. Tastes like a mint ice tea. 🙂

If you missed them, be sure to check out my other post in the tea series on turmeric tea and green tea.

Love,

Tabitha

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

